It seems like my earliest memories of family get togethers all involve my grandmother, or “Mamamac,” as we called her.  Every time I walked into her house the smell of a freshly baked pound cake filled the kitchen, and Mamamac would immediately get to cutting slices for everyone.  We loved that cake so much that every time she came to visit us in Texas she would bring a cake with her!  My brother, sister, and I would wait and wait outside for my grandparents’ arrival, and when we saw them pull up we would say, “HI MAMAMAC!  HI GRANDADDY!  OH Look!  She brought a pound cake!!!”

One of the reasons I love food so much is because there are so many memories in food.  In this case, a pound cake fresh out of the oven will ALWAYS remind me of my Mamamac.  She was a woman who exuded hospitality!  Something like a simple pound cake with a dollop of Cool-Whip on top made every guest in her home happy, and they left her house always hoping for another invitation to return soon there after.  Her house was always “spick and span.” She always had the candy jar full. She made everything (and I mean EVERYTHING) from scratch. And, most of all, she loved us so very much.  She called us “sugar” and made each of her grandchildren feel like we were the most important person in the whole world.  When I count my blessings in life, I count my Mamamac twice over.  I miss her, but I will always hold on to the memories we made in the kitchen, the smells that would come from the oven on a Sunday after church, and the amazingly simple, yet so delicious pound cake.

Mamamac's Pound Cake

Pound Cake

1 c. Crisco
3  c. sugar
6 eggs
3 c. flour
3 t. vanilla (or other extract such as lemon or almond)
1 c. buttermilk
¼ t. baking soda

1.  With an electric mixer, cream together crisco and sugar until fluffy.

2.  Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition.   Add vanilla.

3.  In a seperate bowl, mix the flour and the baking soda.

4.  Add the flour mixture and buttermilk to the crisco mixture, alternating flour and buttermilk.

5.  Pour batter into a large bundt pan and bake 1 1/2 hours.

6.  Top with fresh strawberries and fresh whipped cream (or Cool-Whip), if desired.

**Entertaining tip of the day:  Always have a dessert on hand!  You never know when you might have unexpected guests come over, your kids bring their buddies home from school to play, or a neighbor next door is having a bad day and a dessert might just cheer them up.  Make a batch of cookies and freeze the dough to have ready.  When needed, just turn the oven on the cookie temperature (which is usually always 375 degrees) and pop them in, adding a couple of extra minutes of cooking time than an unfrozen cookie would need.  Also, try freezing a homemade pie or a batch of pre-cooked brownies!

