Before my blogging days, I was a kindergarten teacher.  I would actually love to still be teaching, but we moved, there’s no jobs, yada, yada, yada… so, I’m a blogger now.  ANYWHO… when I was a teacher I always incorporated food into my lessons.  It’s amazing how I could work food into any lesson- whether it be counting with gummy bears to wrapping up our unit on marine life with Swedish Fish and shark cupcakes.  Oh, and let me just tell you that there are so many foods out there that come in the form of letters.  You can SERIOUSLY eat your way through the alphabet (I MIGHT know that from experience… MIGHT.)

Anyway… one special thing I did for my little munchkins was cookie bouquets!  Cookie bouquets are a great gift to give to anyone for any occasion whether it be a congratulatory gift or a wish to “get well soon.”  Here is the last cookie bouquet I made for a child that had a major surgery.

cookie bouquet

He loved it and I loved seeing the big smile on his face when I walked into his hospital room with this bouquet in hand.

The great thing about cookie bouquets is that they look so elaborate but they take so little time!  I usually make a big batch of dough and have it ready in the freezer.  Whenever I need a bouquet I just take the dough out of the freezer and let it thaw in the fridge overnight.

No Chill Sugar Cookie Dough

1 pound butter
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 Tablespoon whipping cream
1 Tablespoon Almond extract
1 Tablespoon Vanilla extract
6 cups flour
1 Tablespoon baking powder

Cream together butter and sugar.  Add eggs, one at a time.  Mix in whipping cream and extracts.  Mix together flour and baking powder.  Slowly beat flour into butter mixture.  Roll out onto floured surface and cut in desired shapes.  Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

*For Cookie bouquets:  After cutting dough into desired shapes, press them onto a lollipop stick (sold at craft stores) and bake.  When cooled, ice cookies with your favorite icing and decorate!  Lastly, put the cookies in treat bags (also at craft stores) and tie up with a cute ribbon.  

Recipe Source:  Fellow Foodie Beth 😉

