Because the temperature is cool….
and because the air is crisp….
and because the leaves are changing….

It’s time for pumpkin bread!!!  

I’m a big fan of giving food gifts.  HUGE FAN.  To me, nothing says, “I really care about you,” more than a homemade food item.  What’s even better is giving food to random people.  I’ve been going to New York City for a food blogging class the past six weeks and I see so many people on the subway begging for food.  It makes me sad to think that there are people out there that don’t eat every day.

Why not whip up a batch of this quick pumpkin bread, bake it in mini-loaf pans, wrap it up in some cute gift bags, and give it out!  Last night I made four mini loaves and gave them out:

  • One to my cycling instructor
  • One to my 95 year old neighbor
  • One to the door man in my building
  • One to the mail man

Go ahead, make someone’s day!  

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

1 3/4 c. all-purpose flour
1 1/2 t. pumpkin pie spice
1 t. baking soda
1 t. baking powder
3/4 t. salt
1/2 c. (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 1/4 c. sugar
3 eggs
1 c. canned pure pumpkin
1 t. vanilla extract
1/3 c. whole milk
3/4 c. miniature semisweet chocolate chips
3/4 c. chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350.  Butter and flour 9x5x2 metal loaf pan.  Sift first five ingredients into a medium bowl.  Using electric mixer, beat butter in large bowl until smooth.  Gradually beat in sugar, then beat in eggs 1 at a time.  Beat in pumpkin and vanilla.  Beat dry ingredients into pumpkin mixture alternately with milk.  Stir in chocolate chips and nuts.  Transfer batter to pan.

Bake loaf cake until tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 55 minutes.  Cool in pan on rack 15 minutes.  Turn loaf out onto rack; cool completely.

Recipe Source:  Bon Appetit Magazine, November 2000

