This past week, while I was in Texas, I carved a pumpkin.  Well, let me clarify… I cut the top off, scooped out all the goop, and that was where it ended.  As I started scooping out the stringy pulp and seeds, I thought to myself,

“Hmmm… I’ve never roasted pumpkin seeds before.  I bet that would be fun.” 

Thus, the carving came to an end and the roasting process began.

Here’s what to do… Step 1:  Separate the pulp from the seeds

Step 2:  Fill a bowl with water and pour the seeds in the water.  Take a few seeds at a time and pull off the rest of the strings and pulp.  Wash the seeds well and drain for at least 30 minutes.

Step 3:  Cover a pan with foil and put the seeds in a 165 degree oven to dry the pumpkin seeds.  It should only take a few minutes.

Step 4:  Melt 4 T. butter and lightly baste the seeds in the butter.  Then add desired seasonings.  I added cinnamon-sugar.

Step 5:  Bake at 275 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until toasted and golden.

They are crunchy, delicious, and a fantastic autumn treat!

