This week, I am in South Carolina to celebrate Thanksgiving with my husbands side of the family.  My in-laws live on a beautiful island just north of Hilton Head and we always have a wonderful time down here!

One thing I love, love, love about South Carolina is all the fresh seafood!  Yesterday we sat by the river in Savannah for lunch, watched the huge boat rigs come in, and ate some really fresh grouper.  You know it’s fresh when you can see the big boats bringing in their catch!

Of course, the other food that is prevalent in the south is anything DEEP FRIED.  Oh yeah, I’m talkin’ hush puppies, fried fish, popcorn shrimp, fried oysters, and fried pickles.

Last night, we stayed in for dinner so I got out the Fry Daddy (which every good southern cook should have), and fried up some pickles!

I didn’t have a recipe so I followed my southern-fried intuition and just made it up on the fly.  The turned out pretty dang good.  I used one jar of bread and butter pickles and one jar of Wickles Pickles.  Wickles are spicy pickles and as I found out last night, they are AMAZING when they are deep fried.

I seasoned my flour with a little bit of Paula Deen’s Southern Rub Seasoning which gave the pickles a hint of extra flavor.  Then I whipped up a dipping sauce, using some of the Creole seasoning I bought earlier in Savannah at The Salt Table.  It was spicy but not so much as to burn your mouth off.  If you like spicier, I suggest adding some hot sauce.

Happy Fryin’ Y’all!

Deep Fried Pickles

1 1/2 c. flour
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1 c. cornmeal
1 jar of bread and butter pickles
salt and pepper
creole dipping sauce (recipe follows)
frying oil

1.  Put flour in a shallow bowl and season with salt and pepper (or you could season with a little house seasoning or creole seasoning if you wanted to).  Put lightly beaten eggs in another shallow bowl.  Lastly, put cornmeal in another shallow bowl and season with salt and pepper.
2.  Pour the jar of pickles into a mesh sieve and rinse with water.  Working in batches, coat the pickles, in the flour, next the egg, and then the cornmeal.
3.  Pour about 2 inches of oil in a deep cast iron skillet or a deep fryer. Heat oil to 350 degrees.
4.  When the oil is hot, carefully drop the about 10 pickles at a time into the hot oil and fry for about 3 minutes or until lightly browned.  Drain on a paper towel and serve with dipping sauce.

Creole Dipping Sauce

1 c. mayonaise
1/2-3/4 t. lemon juice
1 T. creole seasoning

Mix all ingredients in a small bowl and set aside for the flavors to come together.

