Run, Run, as fast as you can!
You can’t catch me, I’m the GINGERBREAD MAN!

What says “holiday season” better than gingerbread?!  As soon as I flipped the calendar to the month of December, I knew it was gingerbread cookie season.  And that is a good thing.

My friend Shasta makes the BEST gingerbread cookies!  They are soft and plump and not overly sweet.  The hardest part of this recipe is waiting for the cookies to cool so you can gobble them up with a tall glass of cold milk.

You can run, but you can’t hide.  I’ll getcha’ you delicious little gingerbread man!

I done told ya’.

Gingerbread Cookies

3 c sifted flour
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp ginger
1 c molasses
1/2 c butter, melted
2 tbls warm water
1 egg

Sift dry ingredients together. Combine remaining ingredients.  Add sifted ingredients, mix thoroughly and let stand about 10 minutes. Roll out dough to approx. 1/4 in thick, cut and bake in 400 degree oven for 15 minutes. (I think I baked mine I think for 12 minutes, start at a lower time and check the cookies)

Frosting

1 box powdered sugar (apprx. 4 cups)
3/4 c crisco
1/4 c milk
1 tsp vanilla

Beat together with mixer.  You can add food coloring.  Also, this is a good frosting to use in a piping bag.

Recipe Source:  My friend Shasta

