I have fun memories of visiting my dad’s parents at Christmas time!  They had this big, old house and I remember thinking it was so cool that the doors had old keyholes.  They had a basement and I had never seen a basement before so I thought my grandparents must live in some kind of mansion because NO ONE in Texas had THREE floors!  There was a huge hill behind their house that went down to the barn and we would sled down that hill all day with my cousins.  My grandma would spend hours in the kitchen making all kinds of delicious things but the one thing I remember most was the BUCKEYES.

It’s called a “buckeye” because this candy resembles the nuts of a buckeye tree, which is the state tree of Ohio.  It is a sweet confection of peanut butter, powdered sugar and butter dipped in chocolate.  They are sweet, sweet, sweet!  One or two of these puppies, and you are on your way to a sugar coma.  But, it’s worth it because it’s the holidays and you only have them once a year.

As I am getting ready to go home to Texas for Christmas, I can only hope that when I arrive, my grandma will have a fresh batch of buckeyes sitting on the counter.

Buckeyes

1 lb. jar crunchy peanut butter
1 stick butter, softened
1 box (4 cups) confectioners sugar
1 bag (2 cups) semisweet chocolate chips
1/4 bar of paraffin wax, chopped fine

1.  Combine first three ingredients in a bowl and chill in the refrigerator for at least an hour.
2.  Form the dough into balls (size is up to you) and chill overnight (or freeze for about an hour.)
3.  Melt chocolate chips and paraffin on a double boiler or in the microwave in 30 second intervals.
4.  Dip cold dough into the chocolate to cover 3/4 of the ball.
5.  Chill to set.

Recipe Source:  Grandma Nye

