Lasagna is my favorite food.  EVER.  I love it so much that in the fifth grade, when it was my turn to pick the bonus spelling word for the week, I picked the word, “lasagna.” My teacher said, “oh that’s a hard one,”  to which the whole class grumbled and said, “nice goin’ Jamie!!”

Oh well, I now and forever will, know how to spell L-A-S-A-G-N-A.  I like to try all kinds of variations of this delicious comfort food.  Different cheeses, different meat combinations, various tomato sauce recipes… It’s all good to me.

This time I decided to try a slow cooker lasagna.  It’s 19 degrees outside today, I’m staying in cleaning and organizing the house and I can’t think of anything better than to smell lasagna slowing cooking, all day.  And it’s easy to put together!  Just layer everything in the crock pot- no need to cook the noodles!

Slow Cooker Lasagna
Serves 8

1 lb. ground beef
1 c. chopped onion
2 cloves garlic, minced
29 oz. can tomato sauce
6 oz. can tomato paste
1 c. water
1 t. salt
1 t. dried oregano
16 oz. pkg. part-skim shredded mozzarella cheese
16 oz. container 1% low fat cottage cheese
1/2 c. grated Parmesan cheese
10 lasagna noodles, uncooked

1.  Brown beef, onion, and garlic in a large skillet; drain.  Add tomato sauce, tomato paste, water, salt and oregano; set aside.
2.  In a medium bowl, stir together cheeses.  Layer 1/3 meat sauce, 1/2 lasagna noodles (broken to fit slow cooker) and 1/2 cheese mixture in a slow cooker.  Repeat layers, finishing with meat sauce.
3.  Cover and cook on low setting for 4-5 hours.

Recipe Source:  Gooseberry Patch

Nutrition Information:
Per serving (recipe makes 8 servings)
Calories:  373
Fat:  17 g.

